Baltimore, Toronto executives make fast  friends

Andy MacPhail, Baltimore’s president of baseball operations, may not have completed any deals at the first day of the Winter Meetings, but he did receive a flattering tribute from one of his peers. Alex Anthopoulos, Toronto’s new general manager, said that MacPhail has been generous with his time and with his advice during his first few months on the job.

Anthopoulos relayed an anecdote about the GM Meetings and said that he began to grow more comfortable after a sitdown with several of his veteran peers. MacPhail was part of that group, and a burgeoning friendship may have been born that day.

“I’ll tell you about Andy,” said Anthopoulos. “I didn’t know him before I got this job, but he’s a class act. He’s a real gentlemen. I told him just sitting at that table with those guys, just shooting the breeze for an hour, they made me feel like I was part of the group and part of them. I think they all understand there’s a respect level. They all understand. I think when you get to the position you’re in, they understand that you’ve certainly put in your time.”

MacPhail was surprised to hear about the Anthopoulos comments, and typical to his self-deprecating nature, he deflected them as best as he could.

“He asked my opinion on a couple things and advice on things I had gone through,” he said. “I just told him what I know and what I did. He’s got a lot on his plate. I think he was just looking for one of the older guys. I’m one of the older guys now. It’s hard to believe.”

— Spencer Fordin
http://spencerfordin.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

